Gods and Kings: The rise and fall of Alexander McQueen and John Galliano- Dana Thomas

The Bookish Badger

Gods and Kings: The Rise and Fall of Alexander McQueen and John Galliano (Apr)

I think it surprises people that I’m genuinely interested in fashion, especially high-fashion, as I’m not particularly fashionable (as I write this, I’m wearing what I call ‘day pyjamas’, made up of clothing that’s all older than my son.) But I’m interested in the process and creativity of designers, especially Alexander McQueen, who I think was the designer who probably influenced my generation more than any other. When I found out that I worked with someone who had modelled for Galliano in the 80s, I grilled her for all the details. As the famous scene in Devil Wears Prada states- we’re all influenced by fashion, whether we acknowledge or reject it.

Anyway. I’m planning on going to the McQueen exhibition at the V&A in July and thought I’d read up on my subject beforehand (so be prepared for more books gracing the blog; I have a ton of reservations scheduled…

View original post 510 more words

Leave a Reply

